NSW 2021 LG elections - Alliance for Gambling Reform

NSW 2021 Local Council Elections

Candidate Surveys

From 22 November to 4th of December, New South Wales residents will head to the polls for their Local council elections. The Alliance for Gambling Reform is surveying candidates across the state to find out where they stand as it relates to gambling reform policy. This is because we are a registered health charity that advocates for best-practice public health policy even at a local level.

Local government is the level of government closest to people’s daily lives, yet with the least official, legislative power over poker machine placement and density. This is particularly true in NSW. However, councils and councillors can be powerful moral leaders in their communities on gambling reform, yet in NSW there are only two (out of 128) councils with gambling impact policies and no network of reform.If you are not sure which council area you live in, please click here to find your council based on your address.

We will publish the responses from candidates as they come through for each council area below. In the meantime, you can view losses and a map for each area, along with a sample of what our published candidate surveys will look like.  

Local Government Areas

Albury City Council Lachlan Shire Council
Armidale Regional Council Lake Macquarie City Council
Ballina Shire Council Lane Cove Council
Balranald Shire Council Leeton Shire Council
Bathurst Regional Council Lismore City Council
Bayside Council Lithgow City Council
Bega Valley Shire Council Liverpool City Council
Bellingen Shire Council Liverpool Plains Shire Council
Berrigan Shire Council Lockhart Shire Council
Blacktown City Council Maitland City Council
Bland Shire Council MidCoast Council
Blayney Shire Council Mid-Western Regional Council
Blue Mountains City Council Moree Plains Shire Council
Bogan Shire Council Mosman Municipal Council
Bourke Shire Council Murray River Council
Brewarrina Shire Council Murrumbidgee Council
Broken Hill City Council Muswellbrook Shire Council
Burwood Council Nambucca Valley Council
Byron Shire Council Narrabri Shire Council
Cabonne Council Narrandera Shire Council
Camden Council Narromine Shire Council
Campbelltown City Council Newcastle City Council
Canterbury-Bankstown Council North Sydney Council
Carrathool Shire Council Northern Beaches Council
Central Coast Council Oberon Council
Central Darling Shire Council Orange City Council
Cessnock City Council Parkes Shire Council
City of Canada Bay Council Penrith City Council
City of Parramatta Council Port Macquarie-Hastings Council
City of Ryde Council Port Stephens Council
City of Sydney Council Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council
Clarence Valley Council Randwick City Council
Cobar Shire Council Richmond Valley Council
Coffs Harbour City Council Shellharbour City Council
Coolamon Shire Council Shoalhaven City Council
Coonamble Shire Council Singleton Council
Cootamundra-Gundagai Council Snowy Monaro Regional Council
Cowra Council Snowy Valleys Council
Cumberland City Council Strathfield Council
Dubbo Regional Council Sutherland Shire Council
Dungog Shire Council Tamworth Regional Council
Edward River Council Temora Shire Council
Eurobodalla Shire Council Tenterfield Shire Council
Fairfield City Council The Hills Shire Council
Federation Council Tweed Shire Council
Forbes Shire Council Upper Hunter Shire Council
Georges River Council Upper Lachlan Shire Council
Gilgandra Shire Council Uralla Shire Council
Glen Innes Severn Council Wagga Wagga City Council
Goulburn Mulwaree Council Walcha Council
Greater Hume Shire Council Walgett Shire Council
Griffith City Council Warren Shire Council
Gunnedah Shire Council Warrumbungle Shire Council
Gwydir Shire Council Waverley Council
Hawkesbury City Council Weddin Shire Council
Hay Shire Council Wentworth Shire Council
Hilltops Council Willoughby City Council
Hornsby Shire Council Wingecarribee Shire Council
Hunter's Hill Council Wollondilly Shire Council
Inner West Council Wollongong City Council
Inverell Shire Council Woollahra Municipal Council
Junee Shire Council Yass Valley Council
Kempsey Shire Council  
Kiama Municipal Council  
Ku-ring-gai Council  
Kyogle Council